Just gotta know if I’m wastin’ my time…

white ink cow skull by holly holt
This wasn’t what I had planned today. This isn’t even the skull I’m meant to be drawing at the moment. Ignore what they say about procrastination…white ink is the real thief of time. There I was wrapping a parcel when this little light bulb flashed on, a skull in white ink on that brown, scrappy paper. And then all other items on the agenda ceased to be. (Just to clarify, I didn’t draw this on the parcel, that would be some freaky ebaying!)
I started off with just a skull shape brushed on in diluted ink, which looked quite ethereal and ghostly and sort of worked in it’s own way. I suppose you want to see it now? Here you go:
white ink cow skull outline by holly holt
Then I remembered a sepia coloured pen I never really got on with and thought “where are you, my old nemesis?” (Yes I do talk to inanimate objects, what of it?) Pen found and many dots later I had a little skull. I’m not sure on the perspective but I wanted to use the natural way the ink had settled as the cracks and fissures in the bone, maybe some shadow underneath would have helped to anchor it down…I quite like how the paper has wrinkled though. It gives it energy, it was done quickly and it’s nice that that shows. It’s not perfect and neither am I. 
PS, if you’re a pen weirdo, here’s the pens I used:

cow skull drawing with pens used by holly holt

Leave a comment